Escaping ourselves

Zsolt Hermann
3 min readAug 22, 2021

--

Question from the Internet:

Do you actually believe this, that we can have a better life, that we can build a different world? Isn’t that like mind-fucking yourself into thinking something is that it’s not?

In almost 35 years of existence, I’ve seen things only grow worse. I’ve been struggling with depression because of how fucked everything is. My dad killed himself a few years ago, my grandmother is demented and my mom takes care of her, despite it being really tiring for her as she suffers from fibromyalgia and had several surgeries to keep her spine from dislocating. Her new boyfriend got cancer and keeps struggling to stay alive because of chemo that destroyed more than cancer alone. People have an extremely low tolerance for anything or anyone and care about nothing but themselves. Our entire system is built upon greed and false pretenses. Everything is noisy where I live. It’s a Sunday and I’m hearing power tools in the background as I’m typing this. I and my girlfriend had to deal with a crying toddler the second we woke up because he couldn’t handle her putting a straw in the bin. He wanted to do it. Tantrum ensues. Which in turn makes our neighbors bang the walls because they are annoyed by a crying kid. Every day’s a struggle to keep my head above water. My past experiences with other people make me distrust them at every turn since one way or other people have tried to fuck me over for their own benefit, despite me always being nice and helpful. They’ve lied, cheated, manipulated, and made me question my own sanity numerous times. Each time I try to tell myself everything’s “fine” it just feels like I’m one of them. Lying to myself…

So please, where’s the rainbow at the end of this miserable pile of sorrow?

Thank you for opening up and I am really sorry for your experiences — which mirrors the experiences of many other people.

And even when some people seem to have everything they need, when even a few days of quarantine due to the pandemic pulls the carpet from under their feet they also find themselves staring into an abyss.

Our whole generation seems now to have lost its way, we have no direction towards the future, we actually fear the future and this hits younger people the hardest. Most of our seemingly physical illnesses, growing dementia, depression, drug use are also based on this aimlessness, helplessness we al feel in our lives.

So where is the silver lining you ask?

The silver lining starts with the fact that we are desperately helpless as we actually do not know why e live, what we are doing here, and who we are in the first place. And this question about the meaning, the purpose of human life — beyond the day-to-day survival, empty consumerism, waiting for the weekend or for the next holiday just to keep us going — cannot be suppressed any longer.

Finally, masses of people realize that living life without a true, overall, Human purpose is hell. This is the revelation of our generation, that without finding and fulfilling our truly Human purpose we will kill each other and ourselves in different but guaranteed ways.

The silver lining is that we are so depressed, we are in such a dark spot that it seems that even death is better than living like this but at the same time something still keeps us alive, because somewhere we feel, know, we hope there is a purpose that can pull us forward, that can help us lift our heads above water.

And we have the appropriate, purposeful, and practical educational method, we have the developing, growing special environment where this method can be implemented in practice.

This is not “mind-fuck”, this is not an illusion, this is not some psychological remedy like religions or meditation escaping reality by closing our eyes.

This is something real, giving ourselves a true, happy, liveable future by changing ourselves by getting to know and harnessing laws, forces of nature around us. Most importantly we have nothing to lose, as there is nothing worse than the life we find ourselves in by following our inherent nature, our instinctive tendencies when we all only care about, sense ourselves, and what is important for us only.

We can escape ourselves and all our problems by learning how to sense, experience, live life through the desires, viewpoints of others.

--

--

Zsolt Hermann

I am a Hungarian-born Orthopedic surgeon presently living in New Zealand, with a profound interest in how mutually integrated living systems work.